Knowing our Transportation Infrastructure Assets: Investing with Wisdom
The primary focus of 5-ICTI will be on how to apply the knowledge acquired through lessons learned from experience and research to make better infrastructure management decisions pavement management decisions by investing wisely in order to maximize social, economical and environmental benefits.



Transportation infrastructure professionals from throughout the world will be brought together, combining knowledge from:
– Practitioners
– Academics
– Private industry
– Governmental agencies
– Development funding agencies

Present experiences, exchange ideas, and discuss proposals related to the conference theme.


To further enhance the understanding and use of sustainability principles and knowledge of infrastructure management practices for better planning, design, construction, and maintenance of transportation assets.

To discuss its use to better, integrate business management concepts, accounting procedures, computer science tools, and engineering and economic principles.


The registration fee that includes break refreshments and lunch plus the following four main social events:
1. Welcome Reception
2. Conference Banquet (Optional)
3. Coffee Breaks
4. Closing


ICTI Committee

5th ICTI Steering Committee

Full Name Institution / Company Country
Chair Carlos M. Chang, Ph.D. P.E. Florida International University USA
ICTI Executive Director Angel Gomez, Eng. Instituto de la Construcción y Gerencia, CEO Chief Executive Officer Peru
iSMARTi President João Merighi, Ph.D. Federal University of Amazonas, UFAM Department of Construction Brazil


International Organizing Committee

Full Name Institution / Company Country
Co-Chair iSmarti
Hosin “David” Lee, Ph.D. University of Iowa USA
Co-Chair iSmarti
Athanasios Nikolaides, Ph.D. University of Tessaloniki Greece Greece
AFRICA James Maina, Ph.D. University of Pretoria, South Africa South Africa
ASIA Tien Fang Fwa, Ph.D. National University of Singapore Singapore
CANADA Susan L. Tighe, Ph.D. University of Waterloo Canada
EUROPE Paulo Pereira, Ph.D. University of Minho, Portugal/span> Portugal
EUROPE Alberto Esteban, Ph.D. Spain Spain
LATIN AMERICA Rita Moura Fortes, Ph.D. Federal Institute of São Paulo Brazil
PERU Wilfredo Gutiérrez Lazares, M.SC. Eng. National University of Engineering Peru
UNITED STATES Tom Papagiannakis, Ph.D. University of Texas at San Antonio USA


Co-Chair – International Scientific Committee

Full Name Institution / Company Country
Advisor Alex Visser, Ph.D. University of Pretoria South Africa
Co-Chair Angel Sampedro Rodriguez, Ph.D. University Alfonso X El Sabio Spain
Co-Chair Benjamin Colucci, Ph.D. University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez Puerto Rico
Co-Chair Ghim Ping Ong, Ph.D. National University of Singapore Singapore